Created by the Parks Foundation of Clark County in 2011, the Florence B. Wager Awards honors Flossie Wager’s influence and leadership by recognizing staff, volunteers, and leaders who have brought a significant impact to the development and enhancement of parks, trails, and recreational programs throughout Clark County and its municipalities.

Florence B. Wager Award recipients are recognized in one of four categories: Leading Eagle, V-Formation Flyer, Tributary, and the J. Scott Campbell Corporate award. We are proud to present our 2022 recipients below:

Nominate Someone Today!

We are currently accepting nominations for the 2023 Florence B. Wager Awards through 5:00 pm on April 15.

Click the button at right for submissions details and then email your submissions to or mail to PO Box 993 Camas, WA 98607.

Selected recipients will be publicly recognized at our Annual Luncheon on May 11, 12:00-1:00 pm at the AC Marriot Vancouver Waterfront, 333 W. Columbia Way.

The Parks Foundation Board of Directors (BOD) will consider nominations and notify recipients prior to May 1. Note that selection of recipients is the sole discretion of the BOD, and simply nominating an individual does not guarantee selection.

Steve Lorenz

2022 The V-Formation Flyer

Click to learn more about Steve.

Photo of Steve Lorenz

Julie Hannon

2022 The Leading Eagle

Click here to learn more about Julie.

Julie Hannon photo

Dr. John and Debra Bauman

2022 J. Scott Campbell Award

Click here to learn more about John and Debra.

John and Debra Bauman

Past Award Winners

With the dedication that goes above-and-beyond the normal, the V-FORMATION FLYER Award recognizes spirited volunteers who give without hesitation of their time and resources to organize, develop, or enhance the parks, trails, and recreation programs. Recipients include:

2020/2021 — Jayne Lacey & Tyler Castle
2019 — Erin Beck and Cassie Marshall
2018 — Janice Ferguson & Shirley Scott
2017 — Joyce Lindsay
2016 — Marie Bouvier
2015 — Dave Kuhlman & Allene Wodage
2014 — Barbara Anderson
2013 — Anita Hill
2012 — Dr. Milada Allen
2011 — John Garofalo

The LEADING EAGLE Award recognizes community leaders who have launched or guided initiatives that have significantly influenced the life, health, and direction of our parks, trails, and recreation programs. Recipients include:

2020/2021 — Tom Griffith
2019 — Jerry Acheson
2018 — Del Schleichert
2017 — Glenn Lamb
2016 — John and Debra Bauman
2015 — Cheri Martin
2014 — Lloyd Halverson & Kelly Puteney
2013 — Bill Dygert & George Simpson
2012 — Don Cannard
2011 — Ron Onslow

The TRIBUTARY Award recognizes parks and recreation professionals who have gone above and beyond their daily duties to create or enhance innovative programs that connect the public to parks and recreation in new ways. This includes creating new efficiencies to ease cost burdens or securing/developing new grant sources or revenue concepts. Recipients include:

2020/2021 — Carol English-Hawley
2019 — Laura Hoggatt
2018 — Randy Wray
2017 — James Barhitte
2016 — Bill Bjerke
2015 — Karen Llewellyn
2014 — Suzanne Grover
2013 — Steve Wall
2012 — Vicki Vanneman
2011 — Debbie Hanson

New in 2018, the J. SCOTT CAMPBELL Award recognizes corporate leadership of parks, trails, and recreational programs. This award honors businesses or organizations that have a dedication of service to our community, and that through their actions, influence, and examples they make a significant impact on the development and enhancement of the parks, trails and recreational programs throughout Clark County. It is with great pleasure that we award this first J. SCOTT CAMPBELL AWARD to Waste Connections.

2020/2021 — Gramor
2019 — iQ Credit Union
2018 — Waste Connections

Skip to content